365 (26)

Cigar City – Good Gourd

Appearance: Amber, cloudy, small but creamy receding head with long laces.

Aroma: Pumpkin spice, dark fruit malt and cinnamon.

Taste: Biscuity, nutty, GOURDY, piney, cinnamon, fruit … and more … extremely complex.

Mouthfeel: Silky with minimal carbonation and a full body, average finish that leaves the palate wet. After a few sips you get a warming sensation.

With Halloween over I figured it was time to review a pumpkin beer before they evaporate. Good Gourd was the beer that all my coworkers were talking about so I decided it was the one, especially since I’d had others in previous years. But at $12 a bottle I was a bit hesitant. Overall I was supremely pleased by the intense complexity and beautiful presentation. I will be looking for this beer next year!

I enjoyed it so much I opened another to have with dinner.

Leave a Reply

